RSS

Thinking in Thai

28 Jun

So one of the things that I have to get used to out here is thinking fast on my feet when it comes to money.  In the States this comes naturally, but here, I have to do the conversion in my head to what it would be in American dollars to see if I want to buy whatever it is I am looking at.

Each day it changes, but generally, 1US dollar is equal to about 30 Thai Baht. Sometimes it is at 32, but it will usually stay in between that range. Here are a few pics to give you an idea of some of the prices.

This hat that Aubrey is wearing (that she personally picked out) cost 100 Baht.  After negotiations we got it for 80 Baht.  My first reaction when I hear 80 is dollars, but I have to recalculate and figure out the real price. Which isn’t always easy to do, so I cheated and got a currency converter app on my phone. lol For those of you playing along at home that would be about 2.50 US.  By the way, I’m pretty sure we are still paying a higher price than the locals.  In fact, I don’t really see a lot of locals shopping so I am assuming they go elsewhere for better deals.

This shirt was 100 Baht.  I didn’t get it, I just took the picture for a friend of mine (Phil you know it was for you lol) You probably could have talked them down to 80 Baht.

Alayna and Raena got a couple of these hats for 80 Baht apiece. They also fold up and double as fans.

We took one of these on a ride around town for about 3 and a half hours.  The deal is that you are supposed to settle on a price before hand.  We settled on 400 Baht.  That is about $12.50. We probably could have negotiated it to about 10 but I’m still new at this so they are getting the best of me. 🙂

Lots of places do laundry out here, mainly for tourists I assume, but the prices are about the same.  They go by weight.  A kilogram is about 2.2lbs.  So if you had 10lbs of clothes (this is starting to sound like one of those word problems we used to get in school, if a train leaves Boston…lol) it would be 100 Baht, which is about 3.15.

In Thailand, not all guesthouses are created equal. There are some questions you should probably ask before getting a room.  Does it have Wifi, AirCon (air conditioning), hot water, and a private bathroom.  These things we just assume in the states, not so here. many rooms come with a fan and no hot water.  As you can see from the prices, this place is pretty reasonable. It does have Wifi. Some rooms have a private bathroom. There isn’t any air conditioning, just fans.  And it doesn’t say but it also doesn’t have any hot water.  But if you don’t really care and just wanted a bed and place to wash up, you could get a room for as little as 2.20 a night.

Raena liked this top but ended up not getting it for some reason. It was 100 Baht but that was negotiable.  I’ll let you do that one on your own and see if you have been paying attention. 🙂

 

Make sure you check out the pics on the picture tab.  I try to add new photos each day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

2 responses to “Thinking in Thai

  1. Phillip

    June 29, 2012 at 4:22 am

    100 Baht! No way Im paying that much for that shirt, baht it is a nice shirt. Yeah, I think I couldve negotiated something else…and I’m still looking forward to my muy thai lessons once you open up your school dr. Jones!

     
    • The Jones Family

      June 29, 2012 at 5:41 am

      haha, knowing you, you could have got them down to 50 baht! and there won’t be any muy thai school from me. i’m just trying to get the language part down!

       

Leave a Reply

 
