RSS

Still Adjusting

04 Jul

Obviously, there are lots of things to adjust to over here. Time change, language change, etc, but there are still some things that still catch me by surprise.

Bathrooms: Over here, bathrooms are much different than ones back home. One would naturally think that it is just common sense to separate the different parts of the bathroom, over here, not so much.  The shower, toilet, and sink are all in just one big room.  This of course makes no sense whatsoever to me.  Why would you not separate the shower? Now every time you take a shower the whole bathroom gets wet!

Also, since most bathrooms over here on septic systems, you don’t flush toilet paper down the toilet.  You have a separate trash can for that. I can actually understand this one, septic systems operate differently than a city sewage system and can be a pain to unclog and get working correctly.

Trash: Speaking of trash, many people in Thailand burn their trash.  I was actually anticipating this one but it is still a change that I am not used too.  Back in the states we all just put our trash cans out on the street on the designated day and the garbage truck comes and takes it away to some magic place.

Breakfast: At most of the hotels in town they try and cater to tourists.  Many of them come from Europe.  So many times they will have what they call an “English breakfast”, which is two pieces of toasts, two eggs, bacon, coffee and pork and beans.  Pork and beans?  Huh?

They were trying to come up with a new meal for lunch so one of the employees that we had become friends with asked me what they should serve with the Pork and Beans for lunch.  I had to explain to her that not only do I not eat meat, but that Pork and Beans weren’t a top seller back in the states.  She looked at me very confused, because in her mind America and England were the same, and people from England eat lots of Pork and Beans.

I had to explain to her some of the differences between America and England.

  1. We don’ t use honey on pancakes!
  2. We don’t consider pancakes to be a dessert.
  3. We don’t put each food item on a separate plate, we just dump it all together on plate.

And a few others that have nothing to do with breakfast but that I threw in anyway…

  1. We drive on the other side of the road!
  2. We don’t watch futbol. We watch football!

Scooters: In America, scooters are more of a novelty item.  Here, they are a way of life.  If you don’t have a scooter, you’re like the guy back home that doesn’t have a cell phone.  When I figure out which side of the road to stay on, I’ll have to seriously consider getting one.  Why? Because they are super cool and they are only like $1000!

Me: As you probably guessed, 6’2, bald black guys aren’t in high quantity over here.  So many times when we go places people will just stare or begin pointing at and laughing incredulously at me.  One guy in a store in town couldn’t believe what he was seeing and began to excitedly point and scream for his kids to look at the really tall black guy walking by! Lol  Definitely going to take some time getting used to that.

All in all, despite my above attempts to be funny, things are going really well over here.  As our friend over here Nathan put it, now days we complain over silly stuff.  Back in the days when people actually were living on the frontier they experienced real problems.  We consider problems to be slow internet, lukewarm showers, or air conditioning not being in each and every room.

If those are my biggest concerns, I think I’ll be ok.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

5 responses to “Still Adjusting

  1. Laura

    July 4, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    Now that was a post I read and re-read — please keep the cultural comparisons coming, I find them fascinating!
    I can tell you that beans on toast is somewhat of a national dish / comfort food in England. I find it repulsive – but hey I don’t eat meat either and those sweetened beans are just wrong! Lots of my English friends consider beans on toast to be just about perfect.
    Google the song: Chinese by Lily Allen and you will even hear her sing about it!

    As for the all in one bathroom …. Consider this, cleaning it is sooo much easier! I assume (since you didn’t mention otherwise) that you have normal toilets and not lose in the ground.

    Overall it sounds like y’all are having a great experience and I just want to know when I can visit!

     
    • The Jones Family

      July 5, 2012 at 11:23 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the post. I didnt even talk about sleeping on the floor or the mini refridgerators or doing laundry or the kitchen set up! Lol maybe ill do that next blog.

       
  2. Mom

    July 5, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Hello Dear,
    Our bathtub,and shower was all in one room. The tubs are for soaking only and they were called Ofuros. You had to take a shower with soap before getting into the tub so that you would not clog up the jets. You kept the cover on the tub while showering to prevent the dirt and grime from getting in the tub. Teh toilet was in a seperate room next to the room with the tub and shower. The water was recyled at the back or the toilet on the top so that you can wash hands.The toilet area was small,but cozy.. I liked it. our Landlord was use to Americans,so he had converted some of his apartments into American style by converting the ofuro into a regular tub,,just deep. It was quite interesting. I loved Japan. When in public,you always keep little packs of TP with you for bathroom use. They always handed it out at the bus/train stations,so I returned to the USA with lots of it. In public,there were toilets with the holes in the ground with porcelain surround,so you had to learn how to squat without falling,especially when doing business to the second degree,if you know what I mean. It was always nice to get back to my apt,so I could use the American style toilet. They call apartments “mansions”. There is a lot to share about our experience there. Being with the military helped a lot,but it was still rough going at first. I discovered how to eat out in the community. Being vegetarian was not as easy as one may think,eventhough they eat lots of vegetables,but they use a lot of seafood broths,etc. in food.Thank God for a sensitive nose and I could usually pick it up,but not always,so I ended with fishy taste in my mouth. I liked that they fixed everything fresh everyday. And we found a Japanese vegetarian restaurant outside the base that our American friends who had been there a few years failed to tell us about. It was extremely delicious,but we would only eat there about every 3 months,so we could keep it special.

    Anyway,that’s enough about my/our experience. I pray that you will have fun learning and experiencing life in a different way and appreciating what we have here and what God has created in the form of another culture and people. It is so amazing to see God in the face of others.You will find that even in our difference we have so much in common. Enjoy and let us know how we can help,no matter how small. Love,Mom

     
    • The Jones Family

      July 5, 2012 at 11:18 pm

      Thanks for all the info mom. Lol ill try and call u back today

       
  3. Mrs. V

    July 5, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    Lolest..you should consider charging people to come look at your bald self. I’m surprised your biz side hasn’t thought of that yet. Yes, I will be accepting royalties from now on…#ha-ha

     

Leave a Reply

 
