RSS

So What Do I Do All Day In Thailand

10 Jul

Good question.  I was actually wondering the same thing before I got here.  What would a typical day be for me over here.  So far, a typical day for me consists of waking up and spending time with the family in the morning.  I get to help with laundry, breakfast, getting the kids dressed, and other stuff like that.

I get to hang out with the girls a lot more than I used too. 🙂

Out here, laundry gets dried the old fashioned way.  They have dryers, but why spend the money when it’s so hot it feels like a dryer.  Most of the clothes are dry in an hour or two.

After that, between maybe 11 and 1, I give Nathan a call and he will come and pick me up and take me town (about  45 mins away) to run some errands with him or take me to a few places that I need to go.

Sometimes on our way to town we will see stuff like this.  Different than I’m used to, but effective none the less.

If we don’t go town we head out to the property (about 10 mins away) and work on a variety of different projects.

As most of you reading the blog know, I am generally not a construction type guy.  But here, it’s all hands on deck so I’m quickly trying to learn how to be.  🙂

One day we worked on this.

Another day I helped tile a bathroom floor.

Actually, the floor took two days.  Lots of cutting without an electric tile cutter.

One day we helped plant field rice. Not sure if its going to grow though because we haven’t been getting enough rain like we should.

Aubrey and Alayna had a great time helping to plant it though!

As you can see there is always plenty to do.  I didn’t get a chance to take any pictures of me and Nathan burning trash, nor of him saving our lives from imminent death as he jumped into action and kept the gas can from exploding in our face. (long story, too long to tell now.  yes, it was my fault)  lol  Yeah, it actually is pretty funny now since we survived. 🙂

So there you have it.  A typical day in the life of AJ here in Thailand.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

4 responses to “So What Do I Do All Day In Thailand

  1. Phillip

    July 10, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    wow! your life is more exciting than the swiss family robinson…You should do a screen write…

     
  2. The Jones Family

    July 11, 2012 at 1:10 am

    haha, with all this stuff to do, who has the time.

     
  3. Giovanni

    July 18, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I also never imagined you doing any type of construction work. Looks like your “paving” your way in the new land. Can’t wait to hear more of your stories. 🙂

    P.S As for the Good’ Old American Life, your not missing out on much.

     
    • The Jones Family

      July 19, 2012 at 1:49 am

      Gio, I’m shocked that you wouldn’t see me as a blue collar worker! lol thanks for keeping up with the blog. i’ll have to give you a call one of these days.

       

Leave a Reply

 
