RSS

Ain’t No Party Like a Thai Block Party!

21 Jul

Cause a Thai Block Party Don’t Stop!!!

Some of you will get that.  🙂

Ok, so this is one of the many times that I wish our Internet connection was much faster.  For the second week in a row, we are being subjected to the Thai version of a block party.  I have mentioned in my previous blog posts that becoming a monk here is very serious.  I don’t know all of the ins and outs of it all, but I do know that part of it involves all of the soon to be monk’s friends coming to a huge party thrown by the family of the monk.  The music from these parties is so loud.  I actually have some video footage of it that I can’t wait to upload as soon as I get to a faster location.  I had some pictures but I don’t know what I did with them.  I will try and get some more this weekend.

But folks, when I tell you that this party doesn’t stop, it literally seems like it doesn’t stop.  Last week, we got home from church around 3.  The party was all ready started.  It lasted, no lie, until Monday morning about noon!!!!

Really Thailand?!?!?!  Really?!

I can hear, every song, every beat, every drunken karaoke ballet.  I can hear everything.

It’s only 5:46pm on Saturday.

This Thai party ain’t stopping, it’s only just begun.  smh 😦

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

3 responses to “Ain’t No Party Like a Thai Block Party!

  1. Phillip

    July 22, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Maybe they know what he will be missing when living a monks life so they throw a party that would be about as long as all the parties he would go to were he to stick around instead of monking it out. …

     
    • The Jones Family

      July 22, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      that’s the thing, you don’t have to become a monk forever. you can be a monk for a week or a month, whatever time length you choose. doesn’t matter cause either way you supposedly earn the favor of whomever to let your parents into heaven. i think, its just an excuse to have a party. kind of like a sweet 16.

       
  2. Mom

    July 23, 2012 at 4:18 am

    Those blackberry bushes look different than the ones in the US. Also,I just made a friend via internet/blog. He and his wife retired in Thailand. Malcom and Ciejay Burgess. Do you know them? They are planning to be in the USA towards the end of the July. They have invited me to communicate with them by phone and blog,etc. I told them that you were speaking to me about retirement in Thailand. His wife is Thai. You can see their blog on the Bambooschool.org site that you wrote about. He said there are ways around owing property in Thailand without being Thai. They also know Ms. Kat and talk about her in a blessed way on their blog. I thought today was Monday. Also,the Bro. Malcolm says that I can give you their phone number so maybe he and his wife can get together with you at some coffee place called Tesco something. I have not written him back ye. I just contacted him last night and I saw that they had written me back.I tried to call the guy about the package and there was no answer and I was wondering why and that is when the Lord reminded me of the day. Love, MOM

     

Leave a Reply

 
