RSS

Bangkok Cabbies

08 Aug

So if you read my last post, you know I talked about cab rides all ready.  But what I didn’t realize is that there are two other cab drivers I failed to mention.

The tuk-tuk drivers (not sure if that spelling, but it is pronounced the same as you would say the uke in Luke) are annoying.  The tuk-tuks are cool but the drivers are like used car salesman times 10.  They will stalk you, try to up sale you, bargain with you…and all you want to do is go to your destination.  So annoying.  I ended up paying a guy triple just to shut up and drive me back to the hotel. lol He wanted us to go to some jewelry store and a tailor shop so he could get some free gas in a promotion that was going on. Then he had the nerve to call him the next day so he could take us around Bangkok to see the sites.  Yeah buddy, you just keep waiting for that call.

The motorbike cabbies are probably the coolest of all the cabbies.  They have some serious driving skills too.  Weaving in and out of traffic like a bunch of ants going back and forth from the colony.

I got a chance to ride one today and it was pretty fun.  No waiting in traffic, you just go in between, behind, around, or wherever else there is space.  I got to my destination in no time.  That is definitely the way to travel in Bangkok!  I found it funny that the guy didn’t offer me a helmet until we were on the way back and it started to sprinkle.  Really, you don’t offer me one for safety, but you don’t want me to get wet?  Hmmm, there is something definitely wrong with that.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

4 responses to “Bangkok Cabbies

  1. Phillip

    August 8, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    lol, whats that green headed creature in the 1st photo? Is that yoda or kermit the frog?

     
  2. Mom

    August 9, 2012 at 6:41 am

    If they don’t offer you a helmet,make sure that you ask them. So, I take it that you were not driving. They way they drive over there,you most definitely need one. I have taken care of too many clients/patients with brain injuries and I don’t want one of them to have to be you. Love, Your Mom

     
  3. Mom

    August 9, 2012 at 6:45 am

    If that many foreign guys were seen in America at one time,they may have other ideas and send out special forces. Anything that we don’t understand, we have a fear of and sometimes it can inspire us to do crazy things. That cute little girl/young lady shows no fear. I suppose that she has been doing that all of her life. How much are the motorcycle cabbies and are they cheaper than regular taxis?

     
    • Mom

      August 9, 2012 at 6:51 am

      Try not to give in so quickly. Maybe you can wait for another one,if they have not called ahead and black-listed you. I think they know that Americans/Foreigners are easy targets and that they don’t have very much patience,so they play off that. How much did you end up paying? Do I need to come over there and show them my Rosa Parks?

       

Leave a Reply

 
