RSS

Things I Still Find Weird, Funny, Different and/or Crazy About Thailand Part 2

07 Nov

4.  Mosquito Nets

I am beginning to wonder if they call them mosquito nets because mosquitoes are always in the net.  I don’t understand how it happens but it does.  It never fails that you will have at least a dozen gnats, a few flying bugs, and a mosquito or two inside of your net with you.  I guess they just wait around until I open the net to get in and ride on my back for safe passage.  We will add the question of how do mosquito’s get into the mosquito net to the other conundrums of life like, “How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop, What exactly would I do for a Klondike bar, and Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?”

5. Thai Years

Did you know that I was born in the year 2521?  Well, neither did I till I moved to Thailand. lol  That’s because here in Thailand the year is 2555.  Being that is this a Buddhist country and all they decide to start counting their years from the Buddha’s birth not Jesus’s death. Since I happen to live here and they take this stuff fairly seriously, I’ll refrain from making any jokes about this matter.  I’m sure you can think up plenty on your own.

6. Fires

The typical way to get rid of your garbage in these areas is to burn it.  Sometimes at night you can see 20 people burning trash.  I see this in the states too sometimes but just not on the vast scale I see over here.  The thing that puzzles me about this situation is how in the world do we not have more things burning down here?  It’s kind of amazing when you think about it.  So you are telling me that there are dozens, maybe hundreds, of  fires each night and nothing catches on fire inadvertently and burns down a whole section of the forest or village?  Wow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

Leave a Reply

 
