RSS

Living Without Electricity and Running Water

13 Nov

It’s quite the experience.  Far from the disaster I’d thought it would be, yet still no where near me thinking that I’d like to live like this for the rest of my time here on earth.  lol

Getting buckets of water each day isn’t ideal but it beats the alternative, which is having no water at all.  As far as electricity we have plenty of flashlights and batteries.  I couldn’t however find a battery operated fan.  You would think of all places, Thailand would have one, but I can’t seem to find one anywhere.

This creates a problem for me because I can’t sleep when I get hot. I get irritable, my eyes, nose and throat start to itch.  It’s just a horrible experience all around.  Thankfully, Nathan gave me the idea of using an inverter to run smaller electronics.

 

This little gizmo will power my fan at night, charge the phones, and my computer among other things.  Bad thing about it is that it drains the battery so each morning I have to give myself a jump from Nathan’s truck.

Those red crates you see are our refrigerators.  We put ice blocks in them to keep the food cold, or at least cool. You have to keep them draining or you have a ton of water inside, hence the containers underneath.  As you can see the girls are adapting quite nicely.

Not to much to tell so far, we have only been there for less than a week.  There are lots of scorpions, a few bees, and many mosquitoes.  But I guess that’s par for the course since we live in the jungles of Thailand.

The good news is that electricity has been approved to come out our way.  We finally got the one person who needed to say yes, to say yes.  YES!  Power is a coming!

Of course I guess I should temper my enthusiasm.  We are in Thailand.  Things tend to move at their own speed around here, and usually its a slow speed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

3 responses to “Living Without Electricity and Running Water

  1. Philly Phill

    November 13, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Glad to hear things are moving right along! Go team Thailand!

     
    • The Jones Family

      November 16, 2012 at 9:23 am

      they seem to be headed in the right direction. so does that mean you are on your way over here? lol

       
  2. Mom

    November 21, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I guess it might be time to use the eucalyptus oil for the mosquitos now. What do you think? and what was the burning of bamboo about and why at night. It would have a great time to burn a not stuff that I don’t need. Great bonfire. Loved it!!!!! Love,MOM

     

Leave a Reply

 
