RSS

Thanksgiving Thoughts

24 Nov

Happy Belated Thanksgiving to all!  Spending Thanksgiving over here wasn’t as weird/different as I thought it might be.  We didn’t have a Thanksgiving dinner over here, but we did get have a wonderful lunch with the Quick family and another family from the states that was here visiting.  Good times for sure.

Though the good times were flowing freely over here, I still found myself missing the very unhealthy food that I consume in large portions on this fine day of giving thanks.  As I think I have mentioned before, the hardest thing about being over here has been the food.  In America, we don’t really have one thing that you would call “American” per se.  We have Italian, Mexican, Tex-Mex, Indian, Japanese, Chinese, Soul food, and whatever else you want to add to the list.  In Thailand, all they tend to eat is Thai food.  Which consists mainly of rice (for every meal), grilled veggies, and a meat.  And as you know, I don’t eat meat.  lol

I’ll have to take some pictures of all the Thai street food, but trust me, most of it, you really wouldn’t want to eat.

In the touristy (is that a word) areas you will often come across places that claim they serve a “Western” breakfast.  But what they mean is they serve an “English Breakfast”, which is as vastly different as the countries we come from.  I mean really, who eats baked beans for breakfast in the states.  And why in the world would I want to eat it on toast?!?!  With a cup of tea??!!  Really?

In the grand scheme of things, my diet is much better over here than it was in the states by far.  My vegetable consumption has quadrupled since living here. But I the sinful part of me that hasn’t died to self still craves (not in this exact order) all of the following and much much more.

1. Burritos from Freebirds (I don’t want to hear from the Chipotle crowd please lol)

2. Dessert at Denny’s

3. Breakfast at Mimi’s Cafe

4. Vegeburgers from Burger Box

5. Apple pies from Whataburger (they fry them like McDonald’s used to before they got all health conscious and what not)

6. Lunch/Dinner at Celleborele off of Hemphill (if you still haven’t been, you need to check it out, best kept secret in Fort Worth, well that and the yearly pass to the zoo)

7. Indian food from Maharja on Hulen

8. Lemonade from the Cheesecake Factory (sometimes it’s the little things)

9. The Olive Garden, Carrabba’s, Carino’s (i’ll take any of them over what passes for spaghetti out here)

10. Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s, and 4th of July meals at my mom’s.  (if you’ve ever been before…i don’t need to explain)

I could really have made a list to 100 but why torture myself.

Besides, I would have surely left some of your favorites off.  Go ahead and leave me a comment of what would have made your top 10 list.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Try and remember the little ole Jones’s as you stuff your face this holiday season. 🙂

Until next time, be well.

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

7 responses to “Thanksgiving Thoughts

  1. Jacquie

    November 26, 2012 at 4:37 am

    As my Christmas present to you Adriel, I will go to all of those places you listed and eat/drink everything you miss. ; )
    Take care over there! Watch out for all of those scorpions, snakes and lizards, oh my!
    😀

     
    • The Jones Family

      November 26, 2012 at 11:35 am

      lol, thanks jacquie. hey email me from your address. i tried emailing you but i don’t think you are getting it.

       
  2. JASS

    November 26, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving Jones Family!

    AJ … I would definitely be in trouble without my seafood. Half of my top ten list calls for crabs, shrimp, crawfish, oysters, and lobster.

     
    • The Jones Family

      November 27, 2012 at 4:09 am

      actually, they have a lot of that. they have squid and octopus so they probably have all that other stuff too! lol

       
  3. Philly Phill

    November 27, 2012 at 1:27 am

    wow! Well…..at least your now nice and healthier now….Perhaps I can go by some of those places and get the kitchen air sealed in a bad. I’ll seal it, box it and mail it to you. Then periodically you can take small huffs of that delicious bagged air to remind you of your old home….

     
  4. Martha E. Jones

    January 2, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Well, My Darling,
    You may be pleased to know that your Mother did not cook anything for Thanksgiving,nor Christmas. Did not have the desire. I spent a lot of time with the Lord on both occasions. My eating habits are changing as well,but I have no problem fixing the unhealthies if yo desire upon your return. Usually,I only do it for the holidays as you already know. I miss cooking for you and all your friends,but I see that God is preparing is all for His soon return in many areas,esp. the diet. I just started my 2nd 40 days of fasting/prayer yesterday,Jan 1,2013. The Lord had me to do one in Oct/Nov. I liked it so well,I actually stayed on it a few days longer. No,I did not stop eating. I just took a lot of things out of my diet and lived on rice and veggies. I didn’t even do my peanut butter. I did the nuts,grains,etc.; I cut out TV and decreased my phone time,amongst other things that were becoming a stumbling block to my spiritual life. I also increased my water intake,which I really,really,needed to do. I expect to do much better on this fast,since God allowed me to see many of my pitfalls that I created for myself. I really do believe the Lord is using this dietary reformation to prepare me for His coming. I also believe that is what He is doing with you in Thailand. Love and Hugs. MOM. Happy and Blessed New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
