RSS

Quick Update and Random Musings

13 Dec

So much to has happened since I last had a chance to blog.  So let’s see, where to begin…

Well we went for what I thought was going to be a small hike up into the jungles behind the house.  By no means was it a “small” mountain, at least not by my standards.  I’ve never been good at going up inclines. But trust me, this was no hill.   I blame it on my long legs.  I had to stop and take a few breaks along the way.   Probably not the smartest idea considering their are all kinds of creepy crawly slithering things that can go up your legs or down your back. Having to stop a few times was a little embarrassing considering we had two teenage girls and a 57 year old man that didn’t seem to be the least bit phased by this jaunt into the outback.  I definitely need to get into better mountain climbing shape.  I guess I can also blame living in the DFW metroplex for several years as well.  Not a mountain or hill for miles and miles.

You can check out our adventures at the following link: https://picasaweb.google.com/adrielj2/HikingInTheJungles

My wife has been on me for a while now to help her start her garden.  Of course as men do, I kept procrastinating and delaying for as long as possible.  🙂  But I finally got up the energy to help her start.  I was able to ask the Paa-dee (that’s what we call him, i think it means uncle) to show me what I was doing, since he has years of experience farming.  I think it turned out ok.  I’ll have to post pics of it later on.  I must say that I don’t really care for gardening.  I don’t know what it is.  My wife says that it relaxes her.  All it does for me is irritate me and make me hot.  I guess I can blame that on spending the better part of the last 10 years behind a desk in an air conditioned environment.

Speaking of the garden, while I was taking a break, Aubrey spotted a snake in the garden.  Although the story would sound much cooler if I told you it was a 10 ft long snake, the truth is that it was just a baby.  I hacked it to death with my trusty hoe (yes phil, the garden tool).   It was the first snake I have had to personally kill since we got here. And that’s saying something since it seems like we kill a couple each week.  No really, we just killed 2 yesterday.  It’s actually rather amazing that I haven’t had to kill more of them.  I’ll have to rack that one up to another one of God’s great blessings.  🙂

We are officially open for business as of this Sunday.  Actual people will actually becoming to our school for English lessons.  That’s actually an interesting situation considering none of us have actually ever taught English before we came to Thailand…hmmmmmm.

And finally, as you have noticed, there is a countdown to our next border run on the main page.  It says 5 more days, but we are actually leaving a little sooner than that.  We are going back to Laos again.  We wanted to go somewhere else but as circumstances would have it, it turned out to be for our own good that we didn’t.  Long story that I won’t get into right now, let’s just blame that one on paperwork and slower than I prefer government offices.  If you don’t know anything about Laos you can check out the link to a previous blog I wrote when we went before. https://ajsadventure.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/going-to-laos/

I guess that’s all for now.  Keep the prayers coming.  The donations are nice as well, but your prayers are wanted, needed, and valued much much more.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2012 in AJ's Adventures

 

8 responses to “Quick Update and Random Musings

  1. Philly Phill

    December 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    You guys are the awesomest! Keep safe!

     
    • The Jones Family

      December 13, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      thanks phil, the group sounds pretty awesomest too from what i heard on shutterfly

       
      • Philly Phill

        December 13, 2012 at 4:20 pm

        we need you to do vocal percussion man! Or at least you can sing on the talk box. Thanx!

         
      • The Jones Family

        December 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

        you know singing was never my thing man. i’m still not sure how i ended up in the group. the bigger question is why did you let me stay! I was horrible. lol

         
      • Philly Phill

        December 13, 2012 at 5:23 pm

        Remember, you were the manager! You created the unique ‘behind lamont’ singing part, lol. As the group has progressed to a full out band, we could really use you now for percussion or at least a backup dancer, lol

         
      • The Jones Family

        December 14, 2012 at 1:23 pm

        haha, im an even worse dancer than i am singer! lol

         
  2. Laura

    December 14, 2012 at 3:29 am

    Sounds like the adventure continues! Killing snakes is not for sissies — I killed one once with a rock when the hoe was too dull (it was a copperhead)
    I hope y’all continue to enjoy the adventures….

     
    • The Jones Family

      December 14, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      see now thats what i’m talking about! someone who understands my struggles. lol baby or not is not the point, the point is that it was a snake! lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
