RSS

My Mission

01 Jan

One of the cool things about being here in Thailand with the Quick family is that they have a wealth of knowledge gathered from over the years working with different churches and groups.  Nathan’s specialty is actually working with pastors on how to go deeper in their study of the Bible.   Very interesting stuff.  Church is something I look forward to each week because I get to learn something new.  I’d kind of lost my excitement for going to church when I was back in the states.

It is inspiring and frustrating at the same time to see the Quick family actually living the mission they feel God has placed before them.  Inspiring to see them stepping out in faith and letting God lead remove the obstacles that the enemy places in their path.

Frustrating because it makes me realize that I don’t know what my mission is.

I have a few ideas and I know things that I like and don’t like.  I know my strengths and weaknesses but I can’t/haven’t/have been unable, whatever you want to say put into words what it is that I should be doing.  Right now I feel we are in the place God wants us to be.  That in and of itself is a blessing.  We are definitely enjoying our time here, but I look around and see that the harvest is indeed ripe and the laborers are truly few, and I can’t help but think that at some point we must go out and try and win even more souls to Christ.  I know the popular theology would call for us to grow this so large that we need to buy an even bigger property.  Yet, perhaps the opposite is actually true.  Perhaps if there were more ministries in more places, more souls would be won for Christ.

Just a thought.

So my question is twofold…

  1. Have you thought about what God’s mission for you is?
  2. Knowing my personality, what would a good mission project be for me to start?
 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

9 responses to “My Mission

  1. Philly Phill

    January 1, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Interesting questions and I’m glad that your fire is being rekindled.
    1.) I believe everyone has a mission to vindicate Gods character (I’ve been listening to too much dennis priebe, lol). However, I think if we truly live as we are supposed to live then we wont necessarily have to find a specific mission. God will lead and direct out lives and by our example people will actually seek us out. I look at the youtube videos of the few that are eating healthy and its very evident the stark contrast between them and the general population. This is also evident among those who use their resources in an intelligent way. God intended spiritual Jews to have the same mission as the Jews of old who forfeited their task. We are to reflect His character and yield our will to Him and as we do so because He wants nothing but the best for us, we will prosper in such a way that it will call attention to us because of the way we live and the way we serve our God. The queen of sheebas visit to King Solomon is a small glimpse of how it should be for every truly consecrated christian. Granted, this world is full of satans teachings and principles and not every christian is going to be healthy, wealthy, and the pinnacle of Gods desire but we must do the best we can with what we have “for unto every one that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance…”
    2.) I don’t know you as well as others but I know you are well organized and you are a good speaker / teacher / orator. What does your wife say about a mission project that would suit you? Try this test out and see what it says? … http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes1.htm

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 2, 2013 at 7:57 am

      #1: In agreement with you on this, except that I think a portion of what we do should be intentional. Not just happenstance. Too often I feel we wait around on God to send us something to do or someone to help when there are people and opportunities all around.

      #2: Phillip: I don’t know you as well as others…

      AJ: Uhhmmm Phil, you know we sang in the same group with each other for 5 years right? 🙂

       
  2. Martha E. Jones

    January 2, 2013 at 6:35 am

    My Dear Son,
    May be it is not something that you are looking for,but SOMEONE WHO HAS THE SOMETHING THAT YOU NEED.( Micah 6:8); then Micah 6:6,7 with I Corinthians 13).
    I suggest that you stop looking and let God lead/guide you since He knows what He has created you for. Many times we look for something big and great and all God wants us to do is to “Be Still and Know” who He is and that is the sure foundation on knowing who we are and what our mission is. I gave you and your brother two Bible verses to remember if you never remember anything else that I taught you and so I will give them again. Matt. 6:33 and Proverbs 3:5,6 and I added a third years later=John 15:5. Take one day at a time and even better take one second at a time because we breathe in seconds and you can only take one breath at a time. It all boils down to our relationship with Him(I Corinthians 13). If we should die the next second,could we say as the Bible says about Enoch,that he pleased God. (I Corinthians 10:31). I love you,but God loves you even more. Study to shew thyself approved unto God( 2 Tim. 2:15). Make sure that you are not measuring yourself by other people instead of God. You never know what struggles others are going through. They might know all the scripture and may be doing all the right things,but they too,deep down could be struggling for a closer walk with God,much more than you. What you see on the outside is not always true for the inside.( I Tim.4:11-16). Please also read the anointing of David. (I Sam. 16:1-13).Note the words of God to Samuel. Blessings and much Prayer. God laid hands on you before you were conceived and His hands are still on you.You have questions,He has the answers because He is The Answer. He has never left you.The questions that He has allowed to be on your mind/heart is to draw you nearer to Him and that is what matters most. Joyfully and Prayerfully and Lovingly Yours in Christ. MOM.(” Don’t take your eyes off the Saviour,for He will bring you safely through”). This is a beautiful old song.Maybe you can find it on the internet. MOM

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 2, 2013 at 7:51 am

      No not comparing myself to others by any means, just looking at all of the lost opportunities. There are so many people out there that need help and to hear about Christ. Where to start, pick your mission field and you can have more work than you can handle. I was just stating that it is frustrating not having a mission project that I could be helping others as well. No jealousy or impatience, just reflection of lost opportunities.

       
  3. Martha E. Jones

    January 2, 2013 at 8:02 am

    I,too,struggle with lost opportunities. They seem to be endless, and it is very frustrating when you realize that it happened again. I really have to pray for God to open my eyes to these great opportunites and to be able to step through the door when He makes them available. I want to be available when those times come. Like the old hymns says,” I’ve wasted many precious years,now I’m coming home. Eventhough,it is talking about someone who has walked away from God,that is exactly the way I feel when I have wasted moments of opportunity. Hope that makes since to you. So, I will continue to walk with God and hope that the lost opportunities will be very,very minimal until they get to zero. Much prayer for us all. Happy to know that you are keeping your eyes on the Saviour. Love, MOM

     
  4. Jacquie

    January 9, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Hi! I’m confused as I had thought where you are now was to be your mission. I would say to focus on your work there for at least a year (starting from when the school opened). I think sometimes it’s easy to look for more, to think that where you are isn’t enough. That’s when it’s best to take a step back and look deeper into where you are. Raena mentioned kids seeing you and shouting “teacher! Teacher!”. You’ve already started making a difference in their lives. You should continue to build on that.

    Just my two cents, be it as it may since I’m not of the same religious beliefs. 🙂
    P.s. lots of news of malaria a bit north of you guys. I hope you all stay healthy!

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 12, 2013 at 1:06 am

      well you are partially correct. we came to be involved in missions but this isnt our project so to speak. we enjoy it here but its not our project. its not our passion so to speak. its kind of like taking care of someone elses kids. you love them but not like u love your own. lol and we dont plan on leaving anytime soon. we will be here at least another year. and no we r not of the same faith but thanks for putting up with me anyway. 🙂

       
  5. Philly Phill

    January 14, 2013 at 1:57 am

    Soooooo…..what is your mission!? Its 2013, I hope youve had a revelation, or epiphany, or serendipitous happenstance! Don’t leave me in suspense like this! Last week for me was too suspenseful already!

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 15, 2013 at 3:47 pm

      just praying and being patient. letting God lead on this one. we are happy where we are. we know God wants us here for now. that will have to be and is good enough. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
