RSS

Was it worth it?

01 Jan

We moved to Thailand June 24.  There were several reasons for this.  For those of you that were early tuners in to the blog you got to read those reasons.  Sorry I deleted a lot of the old stuff to try and make the site more manageable.  If you were one of the late comers, the basic reasons for the move were, to spend more time with family, offer a different opportunity for my children, and to improve my spiritual life.  These three reasons have a few sub categories but you get the idea.

The argument that I heard from more than a few was, “could I not achieve those things where I was?”  My response was and still is, “yes, of course.”  However, as my economically smart friend has told me on more than one occasion, “future success is based mainly on past results.”  If that premise is true, then me staying in that particular situation was not a formula for success.

I am a big believer in truthful self-evaluation.  I’m an even bigger believer in letting the Bible be your evaluator.  After it’s all said and done, what is it that God says and how do you measure up.  Truth was, I had been weighed and measured and been found lacking in all areas.

So to Thailand we came.  How has it been? Not surprisingly the devil didn’t just give up and leave me alone.  J  There are still challenges each day, but I am learning to do what I can and leave the rest to Him.

Perhaps one of the bigger issues in my life was my love of sports.  Dwayne Lemon calls it, “my darling sin”.  It was almost inescapable for me.  It’s what we talked about at work, it was what was on the radio, it was what I looked at online.  I wasn’t strong enough to kick my addiction so to speak.  Being here has made it easier to overcome, but the temptation is still there.  I can just as easily follow my sports teams online from Thailand as I can from Texas.  J  Yet, no one on my job talks about it, I don’t have a radio, and my internet connection is so slow, checking on sports becomes more of a hassle than anything else.  After six months, I can confidently say that I am seeing a light at the end of the tunnel.

I now just glance over headlines like any other story.  I haven’t listened or seen a game since I left.  Progress is being made, if only in baby steps.

This sports issue was big because it actually affected/affects all three categories that I mentioned above.  Me spending so much time with sports took away from my time with God and my girls.  And unlike most, I happen to believe that getting my kids involved with sports actually limits their future opportunities.  (That’s another blog for another time J )

I have been asked in many different ways but in essence it is all the same question.  “Do I feel I made the right decision in coming to Thailand?”

Without hesitation my answer is yes.

Keep the prayers coming though, life would be too easy if that were the only issue I came here with.  One issue down, hundreds to go.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

4 responses to “Was it worth it?

  1. Philly Phill

    January 1, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Hey man! Have you already started writing for your next book about your spiritual journeyings, thailand, and all that? Perhaps youre waiting till you move again? Wheres next? Europe? South America? Canada? Antarctica?

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 2, 2013 at 7:54 am

      I don’t know, been praying about that. But have been enjoying it here so it’s all good. When you coming to visit?

       
  2. Martha E. Jones

    January 2, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Hello Dear Son,
    I am glad to hear that you are seeking Professional Help(GOD) for your addiction(s). As a “recovering” addict of many “little foxes”(as the Bible calls them), He has helped me to realize they will always be a part of my make-up,but as long as I stay with Him,He will keep them under control(Jude 24). As Jesus told the woman caught up in Adultery,” Go and Sin No More”. The temptation is always there,but we don’t have to yield. It is a choice. “Choose ye this day whom you will serve” as I always must remember. I was doing great when I was out of the country,but when I hit U.S. soil, it was like a switch was flipped and I had not problem picking up where Ieft off. So,now that the Lord has allowed me to see that “It’s Me,It’s Me,It’s Me oh Lord standing in the need of Prayer,that is exactly what I have to do and learn to accept that there are certain things that I cannot do and certain places that I cannot go in order to remain under the protection of the almighty. Eventhough, I don’t have many of the “terrible sins” of others,mine are still bad enough to seperate me from Presence of my Saviour and Lord forever. Do I want that to happen? Absolutely Not!!!! But remember that a little black or white lie is ranked just as high on the charts as adultery and murder. Anything that we make a god,other than the true God is a sin and any sin will seperate us from His Presence and that is truly “HELL”. Share your thoughts on this matter. Would love to hear them. Love and Hugs, MOM

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 2, 2013 at 7:49 am

      True, we each have our own struggles. One of the false teachings going around today in many churches is that we will keep on sinning till Christ comes. But if we wish to be one of those who goes to heaven we can’t be in that condition. Sin can’t be in the presence of holiness. So big or little sin it matters not. With His help we will get there. Baby steps.

       

Leave a Reply

 
