RSS

Up late in Bangkok

15 Jan

We find ourselves in the bustling metropolis of Bangkok yet again.  🙂  One of the reasons we are here this time is to get my computer checked out.  I bought a HP laptop a few months before we came to Bangkok and it has been giving me problems.  The screen has been going black, two of the USB ports aren’t working, it crashes multiple times in a week…it is basically just being a pain.

And no Mac lovers, I don’t need to hear from you in my comments about how I should have bought an Apple and how they last longer than other computers!  Though you are probably right, I grew up using PC’s and don’t feel like learning how to use a Mac. Furthermore, I can buy three PC’s for the price of 1 Mac, and seeing how it is that I am currently doing this missionary thing, my budget doesn’t allow me to go all crazy like that.  lol  But, I digress.

I can’t blame my computer for not posting in almost two weeks though.  That, I have to blame on living in the jungle.  The Internet is spotty at best.  It teases you with limited connectivity, but it doesn’t stay on long enough for you to be able to do anything of significance.  But…I digress. 🙂

So since we have been here a couple of interesting things have all ready happened.  We took the BTS Skytrain today for the first time. I had taken it once before but this time the whole family was with me.  Let me just say, riding the Skytrain at rush hour is definitely an adventure, especially when you don’t know exactly where you are going.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, it was that packed.  Maybe even more so.

Thankfully, we finally made it to our hotel.  The kids were hungry and it was getting late so we ventured out to see what we could find.  When I come to Bangkok I try and find some other type of food to eat besides Thai food. I eat enough of that as it is.  I figured we would end up eating Indian like we normally do or find an Italian place to eat.

But as it turns out, less than 100 yards away from our hotel is a small restaurant that that serves Southern food.  I’m talking cornbread, mac and cheese, black eyed peas, deviled eggs….say what?!?  The owner was outside with an employee and asked if we would like to come in and eat.  You had me at cornbread, you had me at cornbread…lol

Truthfully, it wasn’t even close to the best I’ve ever tasted, but when you haven’t had anything that even looks like it might possibly resemble something close to Soul food, trust me, it will due.

So I’d like to give a big shout out to Christine’s Kitchen on Sukhumvit @ Soi 20.  Thanks for taking me back.  🙂  If you are ever in the area check it out.

If you read this in time, please say a prayer for me that they can fix my computer in one day.  I would hate to have to come all the way back here just to pick it up.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

3 responses to “Up late in Bangkok

  1. Alfred Jones

    January 24, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Looks fun. did you get any pictures while on skytrain. Rate the soul food from 1 to 10. 1 being the wortst and 10 being the best…welcome t what most of the world has. very few choices. So they really don’t know what they are missing(smile) be blessed and praying that computer got fixed.
    Dad

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 25, 2013 at 2:32 pm

      got it fixed. long process but if you read my upcoming blog you will understand a bit more. it’s hard to give an honest assessment about the soul food. i might give it a mark to high because i just miss food that taste like that. you know when you are hungry everything taste good. i’d say i’d give it a 7. the carrot cake was the truth. i’d go back just for that. not to mention the people there are really nice.

       
    • The Jones Family

      January 25, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      oh and i did get a few pics. going to upload them in a few minutes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
