RSS

Dear Mr. President of HP,

25 Jan

Hello, Mr. President of HP.  I am writing you today to vent about a recent incident involving your company.  In March of 2012 I purchased an HP g6 series laptop computer.  I was really excited because your company offers a “world wide warrenty program”.  The truth is Mr. President of HP, you may offer a warranty but offering and delivering are two different things.

After talking with several HP phone and internet consultants without being able to resolve my issues, I was told to take my computer to the repair center in Bangkok.  Why my less than 1 year old computer was crashing repeatedly and the USB ports were not working, I do not know, but I gleefully took my laptop to your center because I was quite certain that the maker of my computer would certainly be able to fix it.

After keeping my computer for 4 days which required me to make an additional trip to Bangkok because I live 4 hours a way on a good day, I was obviously disappointed and frustrated to find that though you had kept my computer for 4 days the USB ports were still not fixed.  Since I’ve only had the computer back for 2 days, it is still to early to tell if you actually fixed the crashing part.  But so far so good.

It was explained to me that the reason my USB ports were not fixed is because my computer was bought in America, and as such, uses an AMD processor.  This is a problem because Thailand uses Intel processors.

This might be acceptable Mr. President of HP if in fact I was the very first American to ever come to Thailand that had an American HP computer with a problem.  Shouldn’t you expect that this might happen every now and again and offer a better resolution than just saying

“Sorry”, and then telling the customer that they will have to ship it back to America to be fixed.  SERIOUSLY?!?!? Have you checked the price of shipping to America lately?  I could buy a whole new computer by the time I ship it to America and back to where I live in Thailand!  If anything, shouldn’t you ship my computer back free of charge or have the parts that my computer needs shipped to me free of charge?  Just a thought.  A frustatingly simple thought that maybe somebody in your multi-billion dollar company should have thought of by now.

It is also unacceptable Mr. President that I was able to take my supposedly “unfixable american computer” to a guy in Pitpong Plaza who basically works out of the equivalent of a storage unit back home and he was able to fix my computer in 4 HOURS!!!  Need I remind you that you kept my computer for 4 DAYS!!!

AND Mr. President of HP it is very unacceptable that I had to pay around $60 to fix my computer when it should have been done for FREE by your company.  And let’s not even get into the money that I spent going back and forth from Bangkok.

As a missionary on a limited budget, I would hope that you can sympathize with my plight.  As you can guess, this is probably my last time buying an HP laptop.

But no worries, I still love your printers.  🙂

Signed,

Disgruntled American Customer Living in Thailand

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

6 responses to “Dear Mr. President of HP,

  1. Philly Phill

    January 25, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    So did customer support reply to your email yet? When did you send it? I sent a disgruntled email to hasbro and they responded in a few days. Yeah, thanx for the tip, down with HP laptops! Spread the word! Lets makes their stock price feel your wrath!

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 28, 2013 at 6:57 am

      Nah, i didn’t actually send it. I doubt they care about a guy who bought there lowest of the low computer. I think the day I wrote the letter their stock price actually went up. lol

       
  2. nick

    January 27, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Yea Im curious too what did he say?

     
    • The Jones Family

      January 28, 2013 at 6:58 am

      I’ll send it and let you know. It was more of a letter that I wanted to send.

       
  3. Al

    February 6, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Should’ve went with Apple. 🙂

     
    • The Jones Family

      February 19, 2013 at 5:13 am

      didn’t i say i didn’t need to hear from any mac lovers? lol good to hear from you sir. nice to see you still have a since of humor with all that is going on in your world. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
