RSS

I’m The Man?

18 May

As most of you know, my family and I help ot with an independent ministry here in Thailand.  Visitors come and go continuously, but for the most part we work and live with another family.  Nathan and his family have put a lot of time, money, and sweat equity into this project. God has blessed their eforts and the project has come a long way in a short amount of time.  As things turned out they went back to the states to visit last month.  That left my family here with about 2-7 other people.  Right now there are 7 other people.  Having been here the longest of them all, everyone kind of looksto me for answers.  I didnt imagine it was going to be this way at all. The way that I thought it would work is that everyone would do the things that they normally did and kind of govern themselves.  Yet so many issues have arisen in the month and a half that they have been gone and inevitably I seem to be the one either habdling te issue or helping to handle the issue. I dont mention this to brag or boast by any means, in fact its the exact opposite.  Being “in charge” has opened my eyes to a few things.

1. It is easy to be stressed when you are in charge.  Each day presents new challenges and at each turn people are looking at you to provide the answer.

2. When you are in charge, the decisions that you make can and often do affect more people than you think.

3. Being in charge isnt so much about handling situations but rather how you deal with people in those situations.

4. Working with good people always makes your job easier.

5. As in other areas of life, good communication can help to avoid many issues.

Many of you read my earlier blog about wanting to branch out on my own and start my own ministry project.  I have a feeling that this moment is helping to prepare me for something else.  This experience has proved to be very valuable in teaching me the above things and a few others as well.  Years down the road my time here and this particular adventure will probably prove much more valuable than I can currently quantify.  I can only hope that the lessons learned here won’t be quickly forgotten.

On a side note, if you haven’t checked out our pics recently here is the link.

http://www.picasaweb.google.com/adrielj2 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

2 responses to “I’m The Man?

  1. Philly Phill

    May 19, 2013 at 5:46 am

    Keep on keeping up the good work, Pastor Jones!

     
    • The Jones Family

      May 19, 2013 at 9:39 am

      uhhh, when did i get those credentials? can i send them back? lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
