RSS

Time Flies When You’re Killing Snakes

19 Jul

Unbeknownst to me, our 1 year anniversary of being here came and went with no fanfare.  I hadn’t even realized until my wife said something to me.  It really doesn’t seem as if it’s been a year all ready.  They say time flies when you’re having fun, but I guess I can amend that to “Time flies when you’re living without, electricity, water, a fast internet connection, and living with snakes, scorpions, and other crazy creatures.”  Doesn’t quite roll off the tongue though.  I’ll have to think of something better later on.

Speaking of snakes and scoropions and other stuff, this week has been a little crazy.  Alayna got stung by a bee on her face (bees would classify as “other stuff”), I got stung by a scorpion on my foot (my wife says I screamed like a little girl, I deny that accusation), and today a snake got into the house.  Our resident animal spotter (Aubrey) saw it in the kitchen.  It actually wasn’t a poisonous one this time, but I had to exterminate it with extreme prejudice anyway.

Though we have enjoyed our time here this past year, it does look as if we will be moving on in the next few months.  Sorry for the 2 of you who are holding out hope that we will be moving back to the states, that doesn’t look like it is going to be happening this year. Maybe next year.  🙂

I’m sure some of you are wondering about a few things…like…why are we moving on? Where are we going?  What will we be doing?  Those are all valid questions and the truth of the matter is we aren’t where we are going right now. Which in turn doesn’t allow me to answer the what we will be doing question.

What I do know is that I have discovered what it is I’d like to do for a mission project.  I don’t know if it will be successful or not, but I do know I need money for it.  Of course, I’ll need a lot of help too. (hint, hint)  Seeing as though I don’t make a whole lot of money here, okay, okay…I don’t make any money here, lol, I need to become gainfully employed.  Hence the reason we will be moving on.

I think I’ve said before, but it’s worth repeating, the lessons and things I’ve learned here have been and will continue to be invaluable.  I realize now that I didn’t just want to leave the States, I needed to leave.  I’ve always been a dreamer, a big thinker, a wishful wonderer so to speak, but if I never would have left, I never would have been confident enough or determined enough to try and undertake what I have in mind.  It will take me a year or so to lay the ground work for everything, but when it’s finished, it should be something special.

Time flies when you’re working for God.  (Hey that rolls off the tongue a whole lot better)

As soon as I know something, I’ll let you know, after I let my mom know of course.  lol

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 19, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

One response to “Time Flies When You’re Killing Snakes

  1. Philly Phill

    July 22, 2013 at 6:27 am

    stay awesome Joneseses!

     

Leave a Reply

 
