RSS

Almost There

26 Aug

It’s been a whirlwind couple of days.  Actually, it’s been a crazy past few weeks, but we have survived and made it through 2 of the 4 steps of our trip.  Perhaps flying into LAX and staying a night in LA wasn’t the best idea after being out of the country for over 14 months.  Kind of a slight culture shock.  People honking horns and driving recklessly, tons of people on the road at midnight…wait, that’s not all so different than Bangkok. 🙂

All joking aside, it does feel a bit strange being back state side.  No familiar surroundings, no phone to call anyone, no one you really know…it’s all a bit strange. And I won’t even mention the time change.

Through it all, God has been good, and we been blessed.  When you do what we have decided to do, you really have to depend on God  to provide for you.  There aren’t any illusions as to believing that “your job” is your security.  When that “security” is gone, it’s just God.

The past year, many have allowed God to use them and have helped us out immensely.  Family members, church members, friends, and facebook connections, have all been involved in helping make this past year possible.  And a big thank you goes out to all of you.  I won’t even begin to name names for fear that I will leave someone off the list and to protect your anonymity.  But you know who you are, I know who you are, and we (Raena and I) greatly appreciate your support.

There are a few of you who have warned me that my culture shock is not yet complete.  That rural Tennessee has a few surprises still yet waiting for us.  If they are correct, perhaps the blog will continue on after all.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 26, 2013 in AJ's Adventures

 

One response to “Almost There

  1. MOM

    August 29, 2013 at 9:01 am

    OH,YES,MY DEAR SON,THERE IS MORE. SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”YOU AREN’T IN KANSAS ANYMORE”,But you will get a feel for how immigrants feel when they come to America and don’t have any connections and have to learn the culture and the language,if they want to survive. You got a lot of that over in Thailand,but when you return to your own country and feel like an outcast and have to start from scratch,now that is a shocker. You begin to feel like a foreigner in your own country and some people will look at you like you are. They could not “even” find me in the system when I tried to re-establish my old roots and I forgot some of the English and had to say it in my head in one or both languages(Japanese and Italian). Well, I had been gone for 7 years. I had not driven in that long and my depth perception was mostly none existent,especially when I attempted to back up. People told me that I would get it back because it was like “riding a bike”. Guess what? I don’t know how to ride a bike.I could no longer tolerate being in large stores,like Walmart. It was so overwhelming that I began to get headaches and had to leave. So,I waited and started entering stores for no more than 10 minutes at a time,until I could tolerate it,then my old habit of being a recovering shopaholic began to kick in and I knew that I was just fine,but now I had to tackle my addiction again with much prayer. One thing helped me though and that was that I did not like the quality and design of the clothes in the stores. Goodwill looked better than that. Well, I think you get the picture. So, Hang in there. It will get better and then you will wish it had not in some areas.Welcome Back to America. One thing has not changed though and never will. You will always be my son and I will always Love You forever and always,even into Eternity and God still Loves You More than that. Kisses and Hugs. MOM

     

Leave a Reply

 
